Art Institute of Chicago

What a beautiful museum! I can’t believe I grew up here and never once went there. Personally, I’m not a big fan of modern art. Maybe that’s why I never went before…I just don’t see the beauty in paint splatter or twisted metal, but thankfully this museum had more.

Loved the sculptures from India, China and the Greco-Roman exhibits! Paperweights were strange but cool and I was fascinated by the tiny rooms of the French and British homes. I did get lost in this place trying to find the bridge to the magic bean. Because of this, I wound up seeing most of the place. I managed to squeeze in a few visual moments of the paintings of American Gothic, Water Lily Ponds and even Afternoon in the Park. Very cool because of their history and value but otherwise they tell me nothing of the times they were painted in.

The bridge, by the way, is located on the third floor but its accessed through the first floor coat check room then an elevator to the third floor. Once there it’s a nice walk down to Millennium Park and Cloud Gate/Bean.

20130106-225755.jpg

20130106-225953.jpg

20130106-230111.jpg

Leave a Reply

